Smugglers wins the best film award at the 44th blue dragon awards!

Smugglers wins the best film award: At the 44th Blue Dragon Awards in South Korea, the crime thriller Smugglers won big! It grabbed the prestigious Best Film Award, leading with a whopping 13 nominations, closely followed by Cobweb and Concrete Utopia, each with 11.

Smugglers wins the best film award at the 44th blue dragon awards!
Kim Hye-soo and Yoo Yeon-seok attend the 44th Blue Dragon Film Awards at KBS Hall on Nov. 24. (Photo by Chung Sung-Jun/Getty Images) GETTY IMAGES

Smugglers not only snagged Best Picture but also earned Best Supporting Actor for Jo In-Sung and Best Supporting Actress for Go Min-si. The story, set in the 70s, follows two deep-sea divers turned smugglers in tough times.

Smugglers wins the best film award

Um Tae-hwa took home Best Director for Concrete Utopia, a film starring Lee Byung-hun, Park Seo-joon, Park Bo-young, and Kim Sun-young. It’s South Korea’s hopeful for the Best International Feature at the 2024 Academy Awards. Um competed with other talented directors like Kim Ji-woon, Ryoo Seung-wan, Lee Han, and Jung Juri.

Lee Byung-hun bagged Best Actor for his role as a post-apocalyptic leader in Concrete Utopia, contending with other great actors like Doh Kyung-soo, Ryu Jun-yeol, Song Kang-ho, and Yoo Hae-jin. More info about Smugglers wins the best film award at the 44th blue dragon awards!

Read more: Bad Manners Movie Review

Jung Yu-mi won Best Actress for her role in the film Sleep, a story about a pregnant woman dealing with her husband’s bizarre sleep habits. Other contenders included Kim Hye-soo, Park Bo-young, Yum Jung-ah, and Kim Seo-hyung.

Best Supporting Actor went to Jo In-sung for Smugglers, competing with Park Jung-min, Song Joong-ki, Oh Jung-se, and Lee Joon-hyuk. Jeon Yeo-been snagged Best Supporting Actress for Cobweb, facing competition from Kim Sun-young, Lee Yun-ji, Krystal Jung, and Han Sun-hwa.

Read more: Vanessa Kirby, the star of Napoleon, shares her thoughts on Ridley Scott’s big biography movie

Hong Xa Bin won Best New Actor for his role in Hopeless, and Go Min-si took home Best New Actress for her role in Smugglers.

Popular Star Awards went to Song Joong-ki, Kim Seon-ho, Park Bo-young, and Jo In-sung. A special award celebrated Kim Hye-soo’s 30 years of hosting the awards.

Technical excellence awards went to The Night Owl for cinematography, lighting, and editing, and Chang Gi-ha got Best Music for Smugglers’ captivating soundtrack.

Author Avatar

I'm Nitish, and I'm the writer fueling the content at I've always been passionate about staying in the know when it comes to daily news and events, and now I get to share that enthusiasm with you.

Leave a Comment